Contact Information

Graduate Student Council


Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
4301 Jones Bridge Road
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

GSC President

Ryan Johnson
ryan.johnson@usuhs.edu

Student Representatives

Emerging Infectious Diseases

Stephanie Servetas stephanie.servetas@usuhs.edu

Medical & Clinical Psychology

Anna Vannucci anna.vannucci@usuhs.edu

Molecular & Cellular Biology

Ana Marquez ana.marquez@usuhs.edu

Neuroscience

Steven Miller steven.miller@usuhs.edu

Preventive Medicine & Biometrics

TBD

Physician/ Scientist (MD/PhD)

Angela Pronger angela.pronger@usuhs.edu

About the GSC

The Graduate Student Council is an official committee that represents the graduate students on all matters pertaining to their general welfare as USU students. It is the job of the GSC to provide for and promote graduate student extra-curricular activities, as well as to provide for the welcoming and orientation of new graduate students. Formally, the GSC provides a means of communication between the graduate student body and the Graduate Education Committee (GEC), and also serves as a student advisory committee to the Associate Dean for Graduate Education.

"In an effort to decrease plagiarism, the university has instituted that all dissertations will be scanned by plagiarism software (Turnitin – www.turnitin.com). The GSC and the GEO are actively trying to set plagiarism standards. In the meantime, it may be beneficial to scan your documents using a free service Scan My Essay (www.scanmyessay.com). We cannot give you specific guidelines on what the university considers plagiarism at this moment, but this free service should be beneficial at providing a rough estimate."

There also is another plagiarism service called WriteCheck (https://writecheck.turnitin.com/static/home.html). It's run by the same people as TURNITIN, but it's strictly for students and the results are not released. A thesis/dissertation will cost $40 to $50 depending on it's length, but this service serves as a valuable resource to those who cannot scan their long papers using the free service.