Department of Medicine: Education

Mission

Educate and train Medical Students to recognize, initiate appropriate diagnostic work-ups for and provide therapy to patients suffering from common disorders of the nervous system at the level of a physician entering his first year of postgraduate training.

Familiarize Graduate Nursing Students with the principles of examination, diagnosis and management of patients suffering from Neurological Diseases.

Clerkship Staff and Site Directors

Name/Title
phone/email
Dr. Carl H. Gunderson, (COL, MC, USA, RETIRED)
Clerkship Director


Lt Col Stephen Nelson
Deputy Clerkship Director


Paula Myers
Education Support Assistant
(301) 295-3643
paula.myers@usuhs.edu



Clerkship Directors within the National Capitol Area

Location
Director
WRNMMC Adult Neurology
Dr. Mark Landau, Assistant Professor


WRNMMC Child Neurology
Lt Col Stephen Nelson, Assistant Professor


WRNMMC Neurosurgery
Dr. Sven Hochheimer


WRNMMC PM&R
MAJ Vincent Codispoti


Washington DC VA Medical Center
Dr. Jonathan Pincus


Ft Belvour Community Hospital
LTC Christine F. Lettieri


Malcolm Grow AFMC
Capt Alexander Menze


Clerkship Directors at Out of Town Sites

Location
Director/phone/email
Madigan Army Medical Center
COL Jay Erickson, Chair NEU
(253) 968-0494, jay.erickson@ua.army.mil


SAMMC
Jeffrey McClean, NEU Clerkship Director
(619) 523-5058, jeffery.mcclean@amedd.army.mil or nancy.montgomery@amedd.army.mil


Naval Medical Center San Diego
CDR Michael Delaney, Chair NEU
(253) 968-0494, michael.w.delaney@med.navy.mil or barbara.snow@med.navy.mil


Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
LCDR Edwin Landaker, Chair NEU
(757) 953-2114, edwin.landaker@med.navy.mil


Nellis AFB
Maj Branden Lucey, Chair NEU
(702) 653-3244, brandan.lucey@nellis.af.mil


Jacksonville Naval Hospital
CDR John Hawley, Chair NEU
(904) 542-7373, john.hawley@med.navy.mil


Womack Army Medical Center
CPT Steven Lewis, Sections Chief, Neu/TBI/NeuroRehab
steven.c.lewis@us.army.mil


Pensacola Naval Hospital
LCDR Monte Bell
(850) 505-6071, monte.bell@med.navy.mil


Eisenhower Army Medical Center
Dr. David Wilke, Chair NEU
(706) 787-1334, david.walke@amedd.army.mil or
Kelly V. Jones, Clerkship Coordinator
(706) 787-1648, kelly.v.jones@amedd.army.mil


Wright-Patterson Medical Center
Maj Glen Nagasawa
(937) 656-1633, glen.nagasawa@wpafb.af.milor
Maj Joshua Alpers
(937) 257-1579, joshua.alpers@wpafb.af.mil


Information for Clerks: Class of 2012

Detailed information will be available on Sakai one week before the student is scheduled to begin their rotation. If you do not have an ID and password to access Sakai, please contact the Sakaihelp@usuhs.edu to get assigned one. Students are urged to access Sakai for instructions on reporting to their various sites.

Information for Students: Class of 2013

Numbers of positions for students in the Class of 2013 are still under negotiation. Descriptions of our present sites and those anticipated for next year are to be found in the Student section of this Webpage. Due to the change in schedule for Bushmaster required by the new curriculum, Neurology will be offered in Rounds 1, and 5-9. Students will select their sites at the lottery to be held in December 2011.