Department of Microbiology and Immunology: Faculty

Name/Rank/Degree
Title
Alison D. O'Brien, Ph.D.
Host-Parasite Interactions of Enteric Bacterial Infections.
Professor & Chair
Ph.D., Ohio State University School of Medicine
alison.obrien@usuhs.edu


Christopher C. Broder, Ph.D.
Enveloped Viruses and Receptor Interactions.
Professor & Director, Emerging Infectious Diseases Graduate Program
Ph.D., University of Florida at Gainesville
christopher.broder@usuhs.edu


Stephen J. Davies, BVSc., Ph.D.
Immunology of Helminth Infections; Helminth Developmental Biology.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
stephen.davies@usuhs.edu


Chou-Zen Giam, Ph.D.
Replication and Pathogenic Processes of Human T-Lymphotrophic; Retroviruses (HTLV-1 and HIV).
Professor & Vice Chair
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
chou-zen.giam@usuhs.edu


Ann Jerse, Ph.D.
Molecular Mechanisms of Gonococcal Pathogenesis in Female Mouse Models of Disease.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland at Baltimore
ann.jerse@usuhs.edu


Joseph Mattapallil, B.V.Sc., M.S., Ph.D.
Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of HIV Pathogenesis and HIV Vaccine Development.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California Davis
joseph.mattapallil@usuhs.edu


Anthony T. Maurelli, Ph.D.
Molecular Genetics and Regulation of Virulence Gene Expression in Shigella; Molecular Genetics of Chlamydia Pathogenicity.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Alabama, Birmingham
anthony.maurelli@usuhs.edu


D. Scott Merrell, Ph.D.
Investigation of the Host-Pathogen Interface using Helicobacter pylori.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Tufts University School of Medicine
douglas.merrell@usuhs.edu


Eleanor S. Metcalf, Ph.D.
Host-Parasite Interactions in Salmonella Infections.
Professor & Associate Dean of Graduate Education
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
eleanor.metcalf@usuhs.edu


Edward Mitre, M.D.
Role of IgE in the Immune Response to Filariasis.
Associate Professor
M.D., Johns Hopkins University
edward.mitre@usuhs.edu


Brian C. Schaefer, Ph.D.
Biology of T Cell Activation.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
brian.schaefer@usuhs.edu


Louise D. Teel, Ph.D.
Course Director for Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases; Pathogenicity and Epidemiology of Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
louise.teel@usuhs.edu