Go to the USUHS home page

  Our products
  A to Z index
  Contact us

Biodosimetry Tools

Emergency Response Resources
  Advisory team
  Other resources

Managing Radiation Casualties
  Depleted uranium
  Potassium iodide
  Prussian blue
  Radiation patient treatment
  Managing radiological casualties
  Response to nuclear detonation
      • 1st Edition (Jan 2009)
      • 2nd Edition (Jun 2010)
  NCRP recommendations
  Consequences of nuclear warfare

Medical Effects of Ionizing Radiation
  In-person course
  Online course
  Schedule, fees, registration
  Course resources
  » What is ionizing radiation? «
  » Veterans' radiation exposure «

Product Quick List
  Exposure assessment tools

  Books/book chapters
  Contract reports
  Journal articles/supplements
  Reports/report chapters
  Scientific reports
  Special publications
  Technical reports

Register AFRRI Products

Research Programs
  Combined Injury: Radiation with
      Other Insults

  Internal Contamination and
      Metal Toxicity

  Countermeasure Development

2014 AFRRI Seminars

USU Dept. of Radiation Biology
You are here:  HOME  >  What's New  >  AFRRI scientific director elected to NCRP

New handbook guides
medical decisions in a
radiological emergency

Dept. of Homeland Security
medical experts visit AFRRI

Ceremony welcomes
new AFRRI director

Unprecedented growth marks
AFRRI director's tenure

NRC Commissioner
tours AFRRI

Special assignment:
The Vancouver Olympics

American Nuclear Society
unveils historic-landmark plaque

Historic landmark plaque
to be installed at defense lab

AFRRI receives historic
award from American
Nuclear Society

Iraq researchers
tour AFRRI

AFRRI awarded nuclear
historic landmark status

AFRRI leaders, other research
reactor experts convene
at annual conference

Research pioneer
touched lives, influenced
future of radiation science

Former AFRRI
scientific director was
pioneer in radiation research

Researchers share latest
radiation-effects findings
with military medical community

AFRRI scientific director
elected to NCRP

Scientists deliberate
on diagnostics for
partial-body irradiation

New software to aid
treatment decisions during
radiation exposure incidents

International experts on
radiation exposure assessment
to convene at AFRRI

Ceremony marks change
of director at AFRRI

FDA clears 5-AED for
human clinical studies

New collaboration
will develop radiation

Training for the unthinkable

AFRRI employees participate
in MASCAL drill

EPA awards AFRRI scientists
with highest honor

DoD commends AFRRI
for response to terrorism

Ceremony welcomes
new AFRRI director

Revised handbook expands
casualty management

Peer review validates
AFRRI research of
measuring radioprotection
by liquid chromatography

MEIR course available
on handy card-size disc

AFRRI launches software
for radiation casualty

Chernobyl liquidators'
teeth may link radiation
dose and disease

Individual exposure
takes heat in
radiation study

Russian scientists take
different path in search
for radioprotectors

AFRRI scientific director elected to NCRP

BETHESDA, Md., May 19, 2008—The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) has elected six new members, among them, Dr. Terry Pellmar, scientific director at the Armed Forces Radiobiology Research Institute and Chair, Department of Radiation Biology, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Ten additional members were re-elected.

The election occurred at the NCRP’s 44th annual business meeting in April, held in conjunction with the council’s 2008 annual meeting on the topic of low dose and low dose-rate radiation effects and models.

Congress chartered the NCRP in 1964 under Public Law 88-376 as a non-profit national resource on topics related to radiation protection and radiation quantities, units and measurements. The council formulates and disseminates information, guidance and recommendations on radiation protection and measurements representing a consensus of scientific thinking. It also facilitates and stimulates cooperation among groups concerned with the scientific and related aspects of radiation protection and measurements.

"It is an honor to be elected a member of the NCRP," Dr. Pellmar said. "I look forward to contributing to the council’s mission with AFRRI’s considerable expertise in areas common to both organizations."

The council’s 100 elected members are leaders in many scientific fields relevant to radiation protection and measurements in medicine, homeland security, environmental protection, nuclear technology, and public and occupational radiation exposures. In addition to Dr. Pellmar, other newly elected council members include: Stephen V. Musolino, Brookhaven National Laboratory; J. Anthony Seibert, University of California-Davis Medical Center; Robert C. Whitcomb, Jr., Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; X. George Xu, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; and R. Craig Yoder, Landauer, Inc.

NCRP members re-elected to another six-year term include: Jerrold T. Bushberg, John F. Cardella, Mary E. Clark, Paul M. DeLuca, John R. Frazier, William F. Morgan, Bruce A. Napier, Carl J. Paperiello, Daniel J. Storm, and Thomas S. Tenforde. Four retiring members were elected as distinguished emeritus members in recognition of their outstanding scientific contributions to the NCRP. They are: Thomas F. Gesell, Barbara J. McNeil, Henry D. Royal, and Roy E. Shore.